California has strict DUI laws, so it’s important to know and understand how a DUI/DWI offense can drastically affect your life. California’s DUI laws state it is illegal to drive a vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.08% or more for anyone who is 21 years of age and older and driving a regular passenger automobile. Other BAC percentages include: 0.04% or more (driving a commercial vehicle) and 0.01% or more (younger than 21 years old).
Medications are also included in the state’s DUI law. It is illegal to drive if you have consumed illicit drugs or taken:
- Large amounts of medication with high-levels of alcohol (e.g., cough syrup)
- Over-the-counter medication
- Prescription medication
Also keep in mind a DUI conviction will stay on your record for 10 years. Thus, it will affect your prospective employment, renting an apartment or house and other background-related situations.
If you are charged with DUI/DWI, the Law Offices of Holden W. Green can handle your case. Mr. Green is an experienced attorney that will robustly fight on your behalf.
Call us today for a FREE 30 minute consultation of your DUI case. Feel free to use the contact form on the right hand side of this page to send an email.